Best way to make a gate buzzer that works with SmartThings?

I’d like to be able to buzz someone in remotely at the gate outside. We have an existing gate buzzer button on the inside of our house; when I push it, it unlocks the gate outside. Separately, I just set up a Smartthings and a Kwikset 914 (now just need support from Smartthings for adding/removing user codes!) How can I get the gate buzzer to work with SmartThings?

I don’t have any prior electrical or home automation experience, unfortunately. After a lot of Googling I couldn’t find anything except the Doorbot which appears to have terrible reviews.

I found this thread: App that will turn off switch after a short period?, and it’s sort of close, but not exactly, what I’m looking for.

I’m happy to make something (and/or program, I’m a software developer) and also happy to buy something but need some pointers on what to look for…

Thanks!

1 Like

How will you know the person at the door is friend or foe? If you have a security camera, then why doesn’t opening the app and hitting unlock work for you?

Oops, I clearly didn’t explain that well. The Kwikset is totally separate. I have a separate gate buzzer that lets someone in the gate (not the door), and I want to trigger the gate buzzer via SmartThings as well.

@kalvin +1 I’m also in desperate need of a gate entry solution. Bought a doorbot, but have yet to really bother using it because of the lack of SmartThings integration. Even then, it’s probably not ideal because there’s still no live video support within the SmartThings app (something we’re going to absolutely need to make this integration great along with any decent security cam integration). Thanks so anyone with ideas.

Hello @kalvin Im using a MIMOlite Z-Wave bridge module to control my gate buzzer ( http://thesmartesthouse.com/collections/modules/products/mimolite-1 )

I set up as garage door in the ST app, and chose a door sensor that is always closed.