Best Practice for new ST setup? (device v controller upgrade)

Hello all - I am new to the smart things game and am looking to get a setup going in two new home builds (so wiring w/ neutral is not an issue) for both myself and a friend.
I have used other DIY solutions in the past (i.e. Insteon and X10) as well as some professionally installed options both at home and at work - for the purposes of this discussion lets assume I’m starting from 0 both with knowledge and equipment.

My question is: with the current state of the ecosystem, is the accepted best practice to upgrade (from a dumb device to a smart device) a controller/parent device (i.e. a switch) or a slave/child device (i.e a bulb)? and why? In other words: would I be better off upgrading a switch or the device the switch controls.
I know there are some situations where it may be valuable to do both - for example lets say i want a smart switch but i want my bulb (a hue for example) to change colours on a certain condition.
Further - I understand Z-Wave plus is the way to go for most controller/parent devices where possible - any truth to that?

If you have any devices you love and can’t wait to shout from the hills about id also love to hear of them so i can contemplate adding those to my setups.

Cheers

Welcome! I’ve moved this to projects so you can get individualized responses based on your own needs and set up.

I’m afraid I didn’t quite understand what you meant by your “upgrade” question. If you meant what are the current preferences for various devices, that just varies as people have different budgets, household compositions, aesthetic preferences, etc.

The following thread is a good discussion of different device class features and why you might choose one over another:

With regard specifically to colored bulbs and switches, see the following FAQ: