Arduino SmartThings Shield and Ethernet

(Kevin [Yorkshire UK]) #1

I am new to Arduino but familiar with embedded processor projects. I wish to use a ST Shield and Arduino with Ethernet to process some local UDP sensor data hopefully avoiding cloud dependency. There’s quite a lot of sensors involved.

Am I right that the most powerful (memory) compatible Arduino platform is the Mega 2560 and that to include Ethernet I should add the Ethernet 2 shield too ? It seems I’ll need connector extenders too as the ST shield will not mount on the Ethernet V2 board without fouling the Ethernet jack.There isn’t an Arduino with on board Ethernet integrated that the ST shield can work with ? Wired rather than WiFi and ideally POE.

Am I already pushing beyond the Mega 2560 capabilities to do this and maybe should I look at driving the ST Shield via some other beefier Arduino compatible hardware, which is something I could comfortably do and still leverage the libraries ? I was just hoping for a stack together solution.

(Geko) #2

Why even bother with Arduino? ST Shield talks via TTL serial port. You could connect it directly to RaspberryPi or any micro controller of your choice.

(Keith Croshaw) #3

I was about to refer you to Particle Photon but then saw the desire to eliminate the cloud. There should really be some sort of z-wave / zigbee HA protocol that can go over Ethernet… Lets just run our houses on Modbus TCP… :wink:

(ActionTiles.com co-founder Terry @ActionTiles; GitHub: @cosmicpuppy) #4

Why do you need ZigBee (shield)? You could do the entire project using http/REST over WiFi no?

I guess WiFi has own set of issues, but not sure about the long term viability of the shield and it is firmware tied to SmartThings.

(Geko) #5

I don’t see anything wrong with that. Wired connections are less prone to interference and can cover long distances. Modbus RTU can easily run over hundreds of feet using cheap telephone cable. Try that with Zigbee or Z-Wave :slight_smile: