Amazon Echo Question

Hello,

I am relatively new to this. I connected a few switches, thermostat, garage door, locks, and now I am considering adding Amazon echo.

My question is how easy and how well it the integration between echo and ST work right out of the box ? I don’t want to go through bridging apps or adding codes…etc.

In ST, I have several routines. Do I say “Alexa, perform Good morning routine” for a example? Can I control individual switches to, like “Alexa, turn on dining room light” ?

I would love to hear your experience with it so far. Thanks & Merry Christmas & Happy New Year!

Switches yes

. Work well. Routines not directly… you can add a virtual tile or switch to have Alexa do the routine.

1 Like

Thanks Larry. I have not added virtual switches before and don’t know how. Is it fairly simple? where can I find directions to do so :smile: ?

1 Like

The below link shows how to create a virtual switch via the IDE. I can say I love the echo and how it makes my house much smarter and it is very easy to control the lights, locks, etc without pulling my phone out.

1 Like

Also check out Alexa helper written by @MichaelS

Alexa Helper - Change mode or phrase with a switch toggle

2 Likes

Thanks JP…the latest version is actually here: [RELEASE] Alexa Helper

2 Likes

Time for me to update and try the new features :grinning:

I actually got the Echo and LIFX lights first and then added ST. Echo added a lot of great functionality. It’s a little tricky to get everything working just right, but it’s not difficult. You will like the end results. I can say “Alexa, turn on night time” and all the right lights go off and on and mode is changed, etc. Much easier than walking all over the house to turn lights on and off and you don’t even have to have your phone handy. Definitely worth the investment for the Echo.

1 Like

Thanks @jpeuter11 :slight_smile: I read it cannot control locks ? you were able to control locks?

Can I install that right from my iphone?