Alexa's new Restrictions kill my Security System.. workaround?

Hi
i have been working with ST support for about the last 6 months to get a security system up and running… the idea is to have 3 ST door sensors + a siren all controlled by alexa. I tell alexa to arm/disarm the virtual switch. When its armed, if any sensor is triggered the alarm goes off. It took a long time but finally everything was working with one sensor, I went to install the other two and then it all went to pieces. It turns out that Alexa has strengthened their security, and will no longer run any routines that have the security attribute within them. In this case Goodbye and I’m Back routines (which are part of the virtual switch) , are disabled because they specifically make changes to the security status of Smart Home Monitor, setting it to stay for the Goodbye routine and setting it to off for the I’m Back routine. Does anyone know of a workaround? is there any possible way to use alexa to activate the virtual switch that enables/disables Home monitor ( sensors + siren)? If
not now, is there anything in the works?? This has been such an investment in time, and some $ as well, i dont want to give up. Thanks

I’m surprised that you’ve been working with support for that long and they haven’t recommended the standard work around. People have been using this since the fall of 2015.

All you need to do is create a virtual switch and then have that virtual switch coming on turn on whatever routine you want.

The echo won’t even know that the routine exists, it just thinks it’s requesting that a switch be turned on.

But since a routine can run automatically once a switch comes on, that’s all you need.

1. create a virtual switch and give it the name that you want to use with echo. I’m going to call mine “nighttime.”