Aeon Micro Smart Dimmer Install Help 3-Wire

Hi All,

thanks a lot for all the helpful information in this community, I was reading a lot of the topic and really a lot of knowledge and information on how to automate your home using smartthings!

I’m new to Smartthings and managed to connect Dropcam, couple of sensors, IFTTT and Jawbone. Bought couple of Lifx LEDs however I think the best way to automate lighting is Aeon in-wall switch and dimmers. I ordered 1 in-wall switch and 1 in-wall dimmer to play with, see what works better for me and the house and then decide to buy what I need exactly. However, I’m reading the installation manual and I’m stuck with a point and would like your help if you have installed it before to give feedback or share your experience.

In the manual it says that the Micros has to be powered by a 3-wire system first in order to operate and as you can see in the picture below (I tried to share the picture but new users can’t share images or upload them) I only have 2 wires in the legacy switch. Should I ignore the 3-wire point? it says the neutral has to be connected and I only have 2 wires and no neutral in the switch at home.

Can you please share your experience on how to achieve the 3-wire connection or it can be ignored and just connect the 2 wires to micro and then 2 wires from the micro to the switch.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/3192128/IMG_6696.JPG

Thanks in advance!

What are the two wires in the lower left of that picture near the back of the box?

-Todd

Are the wires that go into and out of the switch the only ones in the box? Are there wires that leave the box bundled with the wires from the switch? The neutral wire is usually wire-nutted together and tucked away. The micro-switch will need to connect to neutral in order to complete the circuit to power its internal electronics.