A Day In the Life of a 'Smart' Things User

Apologies in advance for what might be a long post.

I want to like this system and platform - I REALLY do. I was at Samsung when Smart Things was acquired and I knew that V2 hub was in the works, so I waited. Note: I’m a former engineer, still pretty technical, and an early adopter (much to the chagrin of my family at times).

What I thought I was getting in Smart Things V2 was a relatively stable system that could be extended to do more than just the basics (turn off/on lights). What I got instead was one of the worst ‘Home Improvement’ projects I can remember.

I have 9 Multisensor Gen 5 sensors, 15+ GE dimmers/switches, and some Z-wave and Zigbee lights. In other words, I pretty much went all in on this for the house - a big mistake!

My ‘Home Automation’ day usually goes like this:

1. Wake up, switch house from Night to Home mode
  2. Curse loudly when random automations (both ‘Smart’ Lighting and also Rule Machine) no longer fire like they’re supposed to in Home mode
  3. Manually kick all of my rules in Rule Machine to force re-evaluation (can’t do that in Smart Lighting, so removed it for all but the simple one-trigger cases that I don’t need to restrict to particular modes)
  4. Enjoy some amount of home automation bliss for part of the day
  5. Realize at 3:30 pm that some automations are not firing because the Multisensors aren’t sending data back to the hub
  6. Z-wave network repair (which doesn’t work)
  7. Reboot hub (which appears to stabilize things)
  8. Sit down to watch a little TV, try to run my ‘TV/Movie’ Routine - none of the lights that are supposed to turn off/dim do so
  9. Curse loudly and hope for the day when another company comes along that can take advantage of the Zigbee and Z-Wave infrastructure I’ve forked over good $$ for in my home