VA Smarthome Project

I am new to SmartThings but am really excited about what it will offer. I am working at the VA Hospital developing smarthomes to monitor and provide care for patients. The project is focused on patients with brain injuries, but is really applicable to all sorts of patients. The idea is to monitor a patient at home using various sensors and tracking technologies to make sure that they are safe, taking their medication, exercising / walking around, eating, bathing, getting to their appointments and all sorts of other things.

Continuing the discussion from What projects are you currently working on?:

2 Likes

Can I ask which one?

Working at the VA hospital in Tampa.

2 Likes

WOW! This is amazing, and extremely exciting. Thank you for what you’re doing to take care of our Veterans!

1 Like

Super cool man!

Welcome to the community! It sounds like a very exciting project!

I am myself quadriparetic, wheelchair dependent with limited hand function. So I’m very interested in various forms of home automation, although my issues are all physical, no cognitive stuff.

For example, right now I’m considering a couple of wall switches based in part on how easy they are for my service dog to use. :blush:

In fact, the first major problem SMartThings solved for me was the ability to use a motion detector as a touchless switch so I can unlock the deadbolt on my door to let someone in. I can work this bolt manually with two hands, but it’s tiring. Being able to do it with a hand wave makes every day easier.

I also have a light set to turn on as a persistent reminder that it’s time to feed the dog. It’s a small table light, not obtrusive, and not something I have to respond to immediately. I like it much better than an audible alert. I don’t have to respond instantly, but I won’t forget either.