Monitoring and controlling a hot water in a vacation home

Hi everyone,

I’m new to the community and pretty new to Smartthings in general. I’ve been using Smarthings to monitor my home for a while now, but this is the first time I’m attempting a more major “control” project.

I have a vacation home in a cold weather environment, so it’s pretty expensive to keep a hot water tank on all week, even though we are usually only there on weekends.

I was thinking that it would be cool to use something like the “it’s too cold” app to cycle the power to the hot water heather/tank based on a Multisensor’s temperature reading (to keep the tank from freezing).

My problem is that I’m no electrician, and I have no idea what a safe way to switch the power to the tank on and off would be, or if a SmartThings device can be set to fail to “on” (in case I lose my internet connection). I think Failing to ON would be important because we usually have power, but often the internet will cut in and out, which my temperature sensor to prevent freezing won’t work.

Can anyone recommend a switch (or is it a relay?) that I could have an electrician install? The specs off the side of my tank are:

Cap: 270 Litres
240/208 VAC 1-PH (whatever that means)
Watts Upper/SUP: 4500/3380
Lower/INF: 4500/3380
Total: 4500/3380

For those that know brands of hot water tanks, it’s a Rheem Professional 615.

If I can find a switch that works, any thoughts/recommendations on the temperature monitoring and “fail to on” idea?

Thanks!

Would introducing a water shut-off valve help in this project? What if you had the ability to shut off the water at the main or even at the hot water heater?

This one is kind of expensive but take a look:

http://www.fortrezz.com/index.php/products/water-valve

Some cheaper ones are coming to market soon.

I use an Intermatic CA3750 to control my water heater, but it does not default to anything. As with anything with SmartThings, if it goes offline, you lose control.