What does ST lose when Internet dies?

(Sean Havins) #1

First post.
Total Noob to ST.
Be gentle.

I am planning an alarm system and home automation system based on ST.
Before I buy, I need to know what core functionality is lost if someone cuts my internet and phone lines.

Can I set up ST to function as a home security system that will still work if internet and phone have been disrupted? Lets assume that I have a cellular connection module installed and functional.
Will alarms still work? Will presence sensors still arm/disarm the system? Will email & SMS still work?

(Patrick Stuart [@pstuart]) #2

Search is your friend.

No internet = no ST.

Alarm system != ST.

ST = hub v1

hub v2 = potential solutions to above problems.

If the above doesn’t make sense, then ST is not for you, you will need to understand code and write it if you want to do what can’t be done out of the box.

Smart things version one, the one currently being sold, is totally dependent on there being available power and available Internet. It does not have a cellular communication option.

Speaking just for myself, my minimum requirements for a security system are that it work when the power is off, it communicate via cellular, and it is professionally monitored. None of these three things are available through smartthings as it exists now. Yes, I could add UPS back up for both the device and the Internet, but if my Internet was out it still wouldn’t work.

So I myself contract with a completely different security company for a monitored system. I use smartthings for convenience case home automation, things like turning out the lights after I went to bed.

Version two of smartthings, which has been announced for sometime this summer, will have some local processing, which makes it less reliant on the Internet. But still not cellular communication and you would still need some kind of UPS power backup. So I won’t be switching my security system to smartthings then either.