Trouble triggering def someEvent(evt) function

New to the forums and SmartThings. I’ve had some programing experience in Java, but I am an Electrical Engineer by Major (Junior). This might be something ridiculously obvious that I am missing but I figured it didn’t hurt to post and introduce myself too! Basically trying to use the subscribe command to gather humidity readings in the future. I have typed it as shown below:

subscribe(humidity, “humidity”, showerEvent)

I go on to add:

def showerEvent(evt) {
//CODE HERE
}

For some reason I never get to the actually showerEvent function and it presumably hangs. I added a couple log.trace calls to figure out where my code starts and stops.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! And feel free to correct my vocabulary if I am naming/describing something wrong.

Thanks guys!

/**
 *  In the Shower
 *  Copyright 2015 Camden Krupala
 *  Licensed under the Apache License, Version 2.0 (the "License"); you may not use this file except
 *  in compliance with the License. You may obtain a copy of the License at:
 *      http://www.apache.org/licenses/LICENSE-2.0
 *  Unless required by applicable law or agreed to in writing, software distributed under the License is distributed
 *  on an "AS IS" BASIS, WITHOUT WARRANTIES OR CONDITIONS OF ANY KIND, either express or implied. See the License
 *  for the specific language governing permissions and limitations under the License.
 */
definition(
    name: "In the Shower",
    namespace: "",
    author: "Camden Krupala",
    description: "Takes the difference in humidity from 10 minutes ago and texts I'm taking a shower if it has increased by 10%",
    category: "My Apps",
    iconUrl: "https://s3.amazonaws.com/smartapp-icons/Convenience/Cat-Convenience.png",
    iconX2Url: "https://s3.amazonaws.com/smartapp-icons/Convenience/Cat-Convenience@2x.png",
    iconX3Url: "https://s3.amazonaws.com/smartapp-icons/Convenience/Cat-Convenience@2x.png")

preferences {