Trigger automation based on distance from home (radius)

I need to kick off an automation/routine based on distance from a location in the app, currently home. So far I’m not seeing anything in the routine/automation set up that will allow me to get the distance from home.

So questions are:

1. Am I missing something?
  2. I know the Lat/Lon for home, is there a way for me to get Lat/Lon of the device and do the calculation myself?

I am very new to Smartthings, as in just installed it yesterday. Google hasn’t been greatly helpful.

Not at present, this functionality is not available through the official features. Hopefully, if someone knows how to do it some other way they’ll post about that.

If you have a Samsung galaxy phone, there is an official feature which lets you specify multiple locations and then do some stuff based on being near one of those. Most people use that for home and office or home and school, but you could just pick some other location that was what you wanted to trigger some events off of. I know that’s not exactly what you’re asking for, but I did just want to mention it.

But as far as something just based on distance, I haven’t heard of one, but maybe someone else will know a way.

This the the method I use, assuming you don’t care which direction you are from home, just that you’re X distance. I created a second location centered on my house with a radius of 50km. I use it to activate routines depending on whether or not I’m “out of town” (beyond the location radius).

If you have an Android, you can use Tasker to calculate distance between GPS coordinates, then use the API to do something in ST. I feel like @Jake_Mohl is the resident Tasker expert so he’ll probably know if/how/the best way to do this.

1 Like

This is a good solution, if you have a galaxy phone.

Can you give us a use case so we can help better understand how to solve this problem?

Are you wanting to be a certain distance from a certain location in any direction?