Switch controlled outlet

Hello, I am relatively new to smartthings and am trying to solve an issue that I believe could be done by a SmartApp, but I couldn’t get any leads from searching, so I thought I would ask.

Basically, I have an outlet that has both ports controlled to receive power to one switch. I currently use this switch to turn a lamp in and off; but we’re rearranging this room and I’ll need to use this outlet for my computer as well as the lamp. I don’t want the switch to kill the power to my computer, but I don’t want the lamp to necessarily be on all the time either.

Before I go and rewire the outlet, is there a SmartApp that anyone knows about that could be used with a smartthings-compatible switch that keeps the switch in an always “on” state, while the physical switch would control a connected light bulb?

Thank you,

Justin

This should work for what you need. Top outlet is on constant, bottom outlet is controlled by smartthings.

Sorry misread your post. This may not work for you since you want to use a regular switch for the light. I’m not sure how you could do it without a separate always on Hot wire going to the outlet.

I think a micro-relay switch might do the trick, especially if wired just right. The relay doesn’t have to control a load, so the other would be always on. The relay on/off message is still seen by SmartThings as an event and can trigger the smart bulb.

There are a few Topics that describe the above in detail. Try “micro controller hue” or similar as search terms maybe.

http://www.amazon.com/Aeon-Labs-DSC26103-ZWUS-In-Wall-Controller/dp/B008VWBNAU

If you’re willing to leave the wall switch always on, you don’t need a micro relay, you can just use a plug in appliance module. Those typically have one networked outlet and one nonnetworked.

But you also have to put a switch lock on the wall switch so no one shuts off the power.

Now–what do you replace the wall switch with?