SmartThings New user questions

Hey everyone. Im New to SmartThings, and was wondering your thoughts ive i made the right decision. I have an IOS Device, i hear homekit is not likey to come with Smartthings is this true?

Also to give some background, what i ordered is the smartthings 300$ smarter home package. What i currently use in my home is a foscam, Kevo Bluetooth, Phlips Hue, Amazon Echo, Sonos, Ring Doorbell, and Roomie Remote. How well can i get everything to work with SmartThings?

Cant wait to get the kit and start setting this all up in my new room in a week or 2.

thanks

Homekit isn’t really a player yet. I wouldn’t worry too much about something that you can’t really buy yet.

iOS mobile app for ST is where all the magic happens…

Foscam can be hooked up via image capture in ST.

The Kevo, not sure.

Phillips Hue works with the labs integration.

Echo is in progress, some hacks to get it bridged to ST

Sonos, no problem for basic features, announcements etc.

Ring doorbell, nope, good luck…

Roomie remote, no idea.

The smarter home package has some cool basic sensors in it to trip automation, like motion, contact and presence to do other things.

Just depends on what you want to integrate and do with smartthings.

BTW, none of the above will work today with Homekit :slight_smile: Maybe someday… As might ST. Once Homekit is out in the wild, I’m sure someone if not ST will figure out how to bridge ST to Homekit. ST is an open platform, almost anything is possible.

Welcome to the community! Absolutely one of the best things about SmartThings is the high activity and helpfulness levels of these forums. :smile:

As for your questions…

Version 1 of the SmartThings hub, which is what you got since V2 is not yet available, can do the following integrations:

Basic command set Zwave with some extensions
Zigbee HA 1.2 with some extensions
Some cloud to cloud if both companies cooperate or there’s an open API