SmartThings account for child?

I’m just getting started in the SmartThings and smarthome world in general. I’ve got a few devices in place now hubbed out of SmartThings primarily and integrated with Google Assistant. But I just learned while trying to setup some geofenced security rules that I can’t create an account for my son in order to geofence his arrival home from school to disarm Away mode, as he’s 9 years old and a SmartThings account works for only 13 and up.

How do I go about giving him access to this system, to disarm it so it doesn’t alert me to door and motion sensors being tripped constantly, not to mention to manage lights and other automation, if I can’t give him an account (outside of lying about his age, obviously)? What am I missing? Are there other official options in place for this, or is SmartThings really designed to not account for younger children at all?

1 Like

Will Life360 do the trick?

I don’t know. While I’ve heard of it, I’ve never used it or looked into its integration. I suppose I can try it, although it sounds like it would only resolve my geofencing need, and not my general home control need.

Agreed. Check life360’s policies re: children under 13. It can be easily integrated with ST to use for presence sensing.

I’d advise against installing the ST app on your child’s phone regardless of his age. Since ST doesn’t allow you to restrict permissions by user, your kid could wreak all manner of havoc with your account, including even deleting everything.

Have you considered the presence sensor key fob?

1 Like

This is an issue of federal law, it’s not something to do with smartthings. That said, I am almost certain that your son didn’t get his own cell phone, either, But that you as the adult had to contract for it instead, and then you give your son the use of it.