Simulated Motion Sensors and light timing

HI all, I am new to smart things but finding it very interesting. I am trying to find a way to turn a set of lights off after a set amount of time (5 min). I have a routine that runs when I arrive to turn lights on (for when I arrive late at night). I would like to find a way to get those lights to turn off automatically. I have set up a second routine to run with a simulated motion sensor. After 5 minutes of inactivity it is supposed to turn off the lights but it is not working. Can I use these simulated sensors in this way? Any help would be great.

There’s a how to article in the community created wiki on setting up a virtual timer that should do just what you want: :sunglasses:

http://thingsthataresmart.wiki/index.php?title=How_to_create_a_virtual_timer_for_a_light

1 Like

This solution works with two Routines requires either motion sensors or contact switches to work. It does not require any virtual switches.

How it works:
The first Routine will trigger the light to turn on. The second Routine will trigger the light, after a set length of time. to turn off. Don’t forget to add the extra time it takes for the sensor to time out. In my example, I’m using a Smartthings Multi Motion Sensor with a timeout of about 15 seconds. In my example, the light will time out in 1 minute (plus 15 seconds for the motion sensor time-out).

Requires:
1 motion sensor or contact switch
X number of lights or switches

1. From within the Smartthings app, ‘Add a Routine’
    -name it ‘Arrival’
    -Select the lights you wish to turn on under: ‘Turn on these lights or switches’. Optionally set the dimmer levels.
    -Under ‘Additional settings’, select what the trigger is. In this example I use ‘Things start happening’ and select my motion sensor.
    -While selecting the sensor, set the time you wish this to happen between under ‘During this time window’.

2. From within the Smartthings app, ‘Add a Routine’
    -name it ‘PostArrival’