Running ST locally, DIY control panel, and feasibility

Hi! I’m very new to ST and HA in general, and thought some guidance from the group would be super helpful!

I’m in the process of renovating my house, and would like to add HA capabilities to it. What I’m envisioning is that in each room there would be a [cheap] tablet (read: Amazon Fire, for $35 this Black Friday) acting as a control panel. It would be able to control individual lights, A/C, etc. as well as setting presets for the room.

The reason for having this control panel is so that we don’t have to carry our phones around in the house all the time. I don’t want to use off-the-shelf in-wall switches because they are too expensive. A tablet along with an Arduino/Wi-Fi microcontroller + relays/dimmers would be much cheaper than getting smart switches for all the lights. (Wi-Fi because the chip ESP8266 is the cheapest wireless chip out there.)

To do this, I could imagine two ways of doing it.

1. Have everything connected directly to ST Hub. The tablet would show up as a “smart device” that I could then write a SmartApp to control other “things.” What I’m not sure about is what would happen if the internet goes out (but local Wi-Fi is still working). From what I’ve read, it seems like things that communicate through Z-Wave or Zigbee would still be fine, but I’m not sure about Wi-Fi devices.

2. Control the Arduino board using commands from the tablet through Wi-Fi. This tablet then connects to either a ST Hub or my local server. This way, if the internet (or ST Hub) goes out, I could still control stuff in the room through the control panel.

At this point, I’m not even sure I need ST Hub if I go the second route.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Thanks so much!