Running a neutral wire from an outlet to a switch

In a house that was built in 1908 and rewired in the 70s…

The outlets have black (hot), white (neutral), and bare (ground). The switches have black, white, and bare, but the white is not neutral because it is just used to complete the circuit. The actual neutral may be at the fixture or in a junction box somewhere. Am I correct?

You can run a neutral wire from an outlet to a switch to make it z wave compatible as long as its on the same circuit. This should be done with Romex with the black snipped off. Am I correct?

Thanks!

1 Like

First I am not an electrician. That being said. Colors don’t matter to what they are. Sounds like your black is probably your hot from the panel and the white is the wire going to fixture. Meaning you don’t have a neutral. If your not sure I highly hire an electrician and have them install 1 switch for you. While they are there nick their brain and ask lots of questions to determine if the rest of the switches you want to install are within your capabilities

I’m not an electrician either but you can run the neutral from the outlet to the switches and use that neutral for the ST compatible switches. It doesn’t have to be from the same circuit for it to work properly (although a thoughtful electrician might run two circuits on a single neutral on opposite phases of the panel to zero out the current on the neutral).

I agree with gopack2, the colors are meaningless although technically if using white or green or grey as a “hot” conductor it should be taped with black or colored electrical tape to identify it. This isn’t always done. It seems you have correctly deduced that the “white” at your switches" is actually a load conductor (or line conductor) and isn’t a neutral so good work there.