Rules API vs. Routines

I have been exploring the Rules API for my new home automation. I want to lean that way because I’ve seen that there is a finite limit to routines. So I hope (naïvely?) that the limits are higher and maybe the respones are even faster than routines. I’ve been a coder most of my life (since CP/M. I actually enjoyed programming in assembler when the need arose.) so the thought of writing JSON for rules doesn’t scare me. Perhaps it should. I just want simple things to happen and have a NIH mindset. I am going full steam ahead with my Z-wave devices as I also plan to make the aluminum wiring in my new house safe.

I am setting up a development environment to facilitate my rules generation and then I hope to plunge in this coming weekend. That is, unless someone takes pity on me and gives me a good reason not to go this route.

Anyway, thank you for reading this. I hope I’ve made myself clear enough with my intentions. I realize I didn’t really ask a question but I was hoping to spark a conversation with some community members who have gone before me.

Peter

5 Likes

I too am in the process of learning the Rules API and converting over routines and making more complicated rules. I look forward to see what you come up with.

1 Like

It is quite likely there is one for Rules too. Unfortunately the Guardrails and Rate Limits document isn’t particularly user friendly and the figures that are there don’t seem to match reality. The 200 limit for Routines doesn’t match any number in there, for example, and the limit of 10 Locations per user isn’t in there either (it seems to say 50).

For Rules it suggests an install limit of 100 for ‘User’ and 50 for ‘ISA’. Beats me what they are on about but I seem to remember another user hitting limits.