Raspberry Pi Codesys Project

(Paul Barden) #1

Hi All.

Been using SmartThings for quite some time and finally decided to get a raspberry pi for its codesys integration only.

I’m an automation engineer and work with codesys day to day so finally gonna design a HMI for my house to monitor alarms states and events from all my devices.

The raspberry pi and ethercat master scenario is perfect for my project. Web visualization for the hmi can be accessed from any device with a browser!.

See the link below for an excellent starter guide with codesys and raspberry pi.

Ihttps://www.google.ie/amp/www.instructables.com/id/Programming-Raspberry-Pi-With-CODESYS/%3Famp_page%3Dtrue

I can easily distribute IO around my house using Ethercat (this fieldbus uses Ethernet cable which I have routed around most of my house anyway).

My question related to SmartThings is this:

I would love to be able to integrate my existing SmartThings sensors into my codesys project.

My preffered option is some kind of TCP interface from my SmartThings hub to a Function Block in my codesys project on the raspberry pi. From research it seems the hub doesn’t easily allow TCP/UDP exchange to give feedback on my devices.
Has anyone any experience getting device status over TCP/UDP??.

My other options would be using zwave relays and logic in core on SmartThings to switch the relays and report back to physical IO on my Ethercat IO. I’m looking into this but it seems messy for lots of SmartThings devices.

Finally I’m looking at writing to the onboard GPIO from SmartThings on the raspberry pi and then reading states in this from my codesys project thus giving me feedback. Not sure if this is even possible but I’m looking into it.

Anyway, I’m excited about building this project and would love to hear if anyone would have any advice in integrating my SmartThings device status to my pi/codesys project.

I’ll post progress as I make it here if anyone is interested.

Thanks guys.

(Dan) #2

Paul,