Noob Question - where is all the reference material?

I am new to making a device handler for a custom Xbee home automation project. I have read and re-read all the documentation on the Smartthings developers site. I still am puzzled by a few specific details that I need help with:
(Please note, I come from a strong C background and medium C++ background)

1. In the following code snippet from the ZigBee example,
    "
    def descMap = parseDescriptionAsMap(description)
    log.debug "Read attr: $description"
    if (descMap.cluster == “0006” && descMap.attrId == “0000”) {

Where is the reference material to help me understand 'parseDescriptionAsMap”?
    Where is the reference material to help me know what sub-elements are available - such as ‘.cluster’ or ‘.attrId’?

2. In the Cree bulb handler I see the following,
    "
    def resultMap = zigbee.getKnownDescription(description)
    "
    and
    "
    def on() {
    zigbee.on()
    }
    "
    Where do I find the reference materials or definitions for ‘zigbee’ and all the sub-members (or methods, etc)?

Lastly, is there any error checking in the web based device handler editor? I have added the following but see no way of “compiling” or any other way of verification of correct code:
"
def off() {
zigbee.off()
zigbee.thisshouldnotwork()
}
"
What am I missing here? Where do I find reference materials (or at least header files) that define ‘parseDescriptionAsMap’ or ‘zigbee’?

Thanks in advance,

EJ

We’re currently in the process of documenting the zigbee object and best practices around it. And when I say “we”, I really mean @unixbeast, with me probably just getting in the way :smiley:

Look for updated docs soon; we can follow up here on this thread when they go live.

2 Likes

Tagging @jim

1 Like

I replied before being tagged by @JDRoberts! That’s never happened! My week can really be considered complete at this point :smiley: