New to home automation, looking for honest opinions & info

I’m new to the idea of home automation but interested in starting to develop it for our small 2 bed house in the UK. I’ve spent several days looking into various bits and pieces and while I kind of get the idea of z-wave and zigbee I still consider myself a relative novice so be gentle with me!

What I’m initially looking to set up is a thermostat, a few light bulbs and a couple of sockets. Nothing extreme or complicated, but I could see me wanting to develop my system further, probably into security, if it proves it’s usefulness. I have my heart set on a Nest thermostat but beyond that there’s a confusing range of things out there with huge price differences. Ideally I’d like a single integrated system I can add to rather than ending up with a whole variety of apps and having to connect everything via IFTTT (Nest excluded, I’m happy to control that separately for the time being) which is why I’ve been focusing on SmartThings. However, I have some questions/concerns I’m hoping you guys can help with:

1. I’ve read a LOT of bad reviews on the reliability of SmartThings and obviously this is of concern. Is the system truly as unreliable as it seems? I don’t want to have to keep fiddling with it as this kind of defeats the point of it in the first place!

2. I understand SmartThings is primarily z-wave based - does this mean in theory any z-wave device should work with it?

3. Leading on from above, I’ve read a lot of comments about adding custom code to the IDE, especially to add non-certified devices. I’m reasonably comfortable writing in visual basic/VBA, css and some html so given these existing skills is coding for this IDE relatively simple? Is there perhaps a guide somewhere for it someone could link me to?