Need some help getting JSON response from LAN

Based on searching through the forums, I realize that there are some issues using httpget on LAN addresses. I discovered the sendhubcommand workaround to pull information, but I’m not sure how to actually get the result into a string to parse the response. Below is a rough example of where I’m at:

def returnJSON() {
def result = new physicalgraph.device.HubAction(
    method: "GET",
    path: "/jsonrpc?request=xxxxx",
    headers: [
        HOST: "192.168.1.200:8080"
    ],
   )
sendHubCommand(result)
log.debug "Hub command sent"
}

I hope someone can help me understand how to get the response so I use another function to parse it down (or to even test whether the hub is sending the request). I am a bit new to programming, so I might be missing something obvious or straight forward, so any advice would be appreciated.

You need to implement a parse method - it will receive the response (assuming that you have set up your deviceNetworkId correctly (either hex IP:Port or MAC):

def parse(String description) {
	def msg = parseLanMessage(description)
        def json = msg.json;
       // parse and process your json here
}

@ahndee I actually converted my IP to hexIP:Port in the host section, I also added the parse method, but it doesn’t seem to be working. I put a log.debug statement in there, and it isn’t showing up in the logging. Not sure what I’m doing wrong or how to test this.

@anon36505037 I am trying to build on an existing smartapp that controls lighting using Kodi. I wanted to add additional logic into the app to exclude certain types of videos. Kodi will return the info I want from an HTTP request, so I want to build this into the existing app if possible.

Try using the target device’s MAC address as network ID - seems to be more robust.