Is there a particular reason for using exotic programming languages for the system?

I’m new to this SmartThings ecosystem and I really don’t understand why it insists on using so exotic programming languages. It looks like in the beginning many things required Groovy code. Now, there is Edge Drivers which require Lua code. I admit there are apparently people who love those languages but if we look at a table of language popularity Most Popular Programming Languages for 2021 (cleveroad.com) Groovy and Lua are not even near to those lists. I’m in the industry for decades. Yes, I can learn and use another language but I need a serious reason for that. I don’t see advantages in using Groovy or Lua. SmartThings seems to be a huge platform for home automation. Why don’t we use something more streamlined?

Lua has been used specifically for home automation systems for over 10 years for some particular technical reasons. So I think that choice is not a surprise.

https://www.bmc.com/blogs/lua-programming-language/

And remember that in the new architecture you only need to use LUA if you are writing your own device driver, which very few people will be doing.

If you want to write your own if/then code, a smartapp, you can write it in any language you want because you’re going to be hosting it yourself and then interacting with smartthings through the REST API. So if you want to code in Java, or C++, or even Swift, you certainly can for your smart app. Or you can just use MQTT with node red, which is popular right now.

Smartthings had a reputation for being easy to write custom device drivers in, which was true, but then you had to come back to the question of why were you having to write your own device drivers in the first place when they were using 2 well-established third-party protocols? And that was really because they had chosen to do only a pretty limited implementation of the third-party protocols. They didn’t even support central scenes through the menu UI.