Hub 2.0, local control, OpenHAB, Arduinos, etc

Hello,
I’m excited about Hub 2.0. But there’s not much info out there.

I’m a electronics hobbyist and like to make my own wireless sensors. I’ve been looking for a device that bridges zigbee and z-wave to ethernet. With Hub2.0 local support, will I be able to write apps to do call-backs on a REST API when zigbee door contact sensors open/close?

Is there a local (LOCAL!) API on the hub that I can use to turn on zigbee lightbulbs?

What is the authentication/security scheme like? Is that part cloud based?

Thanks!

1 Like

I’ve been asking the same questions for a year. I am assuming that any API interaction will be cloud based and not local.

Too bad OpenHAB doesn’t have zigbee support.

1 Like

How about sensor callbacks? I’m assuming the app doing a API call doesn’t require cloud, since it’s a outgoing call to something on my LAN?

I wish it were that way. But with hub v1, all interactions with devices and their responses route to cloud first and all interactions with 3rd parties are done at the cloud level.

I would love to be able to access something on the local hub without leaving the network, but I haven’t heard anything from anyone at ST that this will be a feature anytime soon. It has been asked for many times over the last year.

However, doesn’t hurt to keep asking for it.

1 Like

I guess it’s a business decision. Opening up a local API means more chances for someone somewhere to get their hub “hacked”. But it also opens up so many more sensor options. LoRa integration. All kinds of things.

1 Like

I talk to my local devices that are joined to my SmartThings hub with a little ZigBee USB dongle plugged into my Windows workstation. I can completely communicate with all my ZigBee devices even my Hue Bulbs. Is this what your looking for? You don’t have to talk to the hub to get access to your devices you just have to be on the same ZigBee network?