How to get an alert in case of power outage/failure?

I’m pretty new to ST, so sorry if this is an ignorant question. Although, after much research there doesn’t seem to be an easy solution to get an alert for a power failure. I’ve found a few, like an open/close with a relay or using a Aeon Z-Wave Smart Energy Monitor Meter, but am wondering if there’s an easier way. Like a SmartApp that regularly checks if a sensor is active or not. Currently I only have a Leviton DZPA1 smart switch and my Ecobee3 smart thermostat (motion & temp) hitched up. So I was hoping I could use those, but would gladly buy another sensor that would work better.

Also, BTW, I have the ST Hub and my network on a UPS that should give me 1-2 days of power, so the internet will be on during a power failure.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. :slight_smile:

1 Like

If I understand your question, you were saying you would like to know when mains power is out but the Internet is still available and that both your router and your hub would be on a UPS power supply.

For that situation, you wouldn’t get an alert instantly when the power went out, but there are several community created “wellness check” smart apps that could alert you when a particular device had stopped reporting for a little while. People more commonly monitor those to look for individual devices that have gone bad, but in your situation as long as the hub still has power and Internet and the smartthings cloud is up, you could use A wellness check for a more general power outage.

Use the quick browse lists in the community – created wiki and look for “wellness check”

http://thingsthataresmart.wiki/index.php?title=How_to_Quick_Browse_the_Community-Created_SmartApps_Forum_Section