Hooking up a 3way switch, one zwave and one regular

Is it at all possible to hookup (on an existing 3way switch) one zwave rocker switch and have the other switch a regular switch? The reason being is to still be able to switch on the light in case of an outage.
I am new to all of this so I am still trying to figure out how everything works.

I just told my wife of my plans and she said so if the Internet is down we can’t turn on the lights.
I don’t expect the Internet to be down but am trying to eliminate “the look” if our connection does go down and she try’s to turn on the lights :slight_smile:
Thanks!
Scott

Most z wave switches (including 3 ways) will still turn off\pn the light even if the hub is down. They are relays in the switches which trip when the button is pressed. The only way this would not happen is if the switch is no physically connected to the load or you are using those HUE bulbs where each one is a z wave device. I have a: http://www.amazon.com/Leviton-DZS15-1LZ-Decora-Controls-Capable/dp/B00LEWQYHG/ref=sr_1_2?s=hi&ie=UTF8&qid=1419992113&sr=1-2&keywords=leviton+z+wave

with the following remote and it works fine if the hub is down.

http://www.amazon.com/Leviton-VP0SR-10Z-Digital-Coordinating-applications/dp/B001HT4M70/ref=sr_1_1?s=hi&ie=UTF8&qid=1419992197&sr=1-1&keywords=vp0sr-10

zwave or zigbee switches will always work from their attached real switch, internet or no internet. If your internet is down you will loose the ability to control the lights from the ST application and any smart apps that run that light. You will always have local control over the light.

Thanks to both of you for straightening me out :slight_smile: That makes sense now that you explain it…sorry but I’m new.
I am using a Jasco 45609 and 45610 so those should work the same.

Sorry for the dumb question but thanks for answering.

@swindmiller, welcome to ST and the community, and no questions are dumb!