Easiest way to control wired lights in 2021

Hello,

I’m wondering what the easiest/simplest way of getting a standard light “smart” in 2021. We need something that’s reversible because we rent. I’ve seen that Hue is coming out with a gadget that can be added in the wiring line to make any switch smart but I’ve heard little about that. It sounds like things that other companies have had out for awhile.

I’m also intrigued with Brilliant. We do have some smart lighting in some lights with switches and my understanding is that it allows smart lights to stay smart and still use the switch while making “dumb” switches smart. Has anyone actually installed this and how difficult would you say it is? I have basic knowledge of wiring and have wired outlets, lights, etc (but I’m not an expert).

Lastly, are there any other options that you can think of to accomplish this goal? I’d be open to any ideas. These types of things change so quickly I wondered if some of the folks here had ideas I’ve not yet even heard of. Thanks so much!

Why not just go the route of using smart light bulbs? Sengled offers Zigbee bulbs that do not repeat a signal and will turn on when power has been cut at the switch and then returned to the on position. They have various styles to choose from.

@Nameless, it’s a very fair question - and a great idea. I really should have said in the OG post but was trying not to make it too long.