Does it work yet?

I’ve been tracking the progress of SmartThings for about two years now. First, I was going to jump in and buy a v1 two years ago then decided to come on here and check out the forums, only to conclude that there were so many issues that I wouldn’t have enough time to work through them all. So I waited for v2. V2 gets released and I check back in here to find that there are still a load of issue that people can’t fix or have to code workarounds for.

So, my question is this: does SmartThings now work to reliably automate lights, garage doors and other devices automatically and by presence sensors? And is the home security capability solid? I’m afraid I just don’t have the time to invest making it all work, then troubleshooting it when for apparently no reason something stops working etc etc

Cheers
Simon

Then SmartThings is not going to be your cup of tea, you may want to look into the control4 systems they will do exactly what you are looking for, it will just cost a bit more.

Hey, Sid… there are certainly more alternatives that the luxury brand Control4.

Staples Connect, for example, is a simpler system that uses some of the same local networking technology. It certainly isn’t as customizable or extensible, but I believe it currently is more reliable.

Alarm.com, iControl (branded as PEQ and others), Xfinity, Vera, Iris, etc., many more … are all affordable and worth consideration.

Of course, except for the Control4 / Crestron / Savant’s of the world, “smart home” is a very immature and rapidly changing product-service category. There’s just as good a chance that SmartThings will significantly stabilize before a comparable competitor does … or vice versa.

The biggest problem: What makes a competitor “comparable”? That totally depends on the subset of smart home functionality that you want and/or need at this time.

1 Like