Conventional to smart switch conversion

Hi everyone,

I am fairly new to smart things.

I recently built a house and the main issue I am having, is the quantity of lights and lights switches that don’t necessarly make sense in terms of which light come on, grouping of light and switch location.

My question is if you have as current set up :(conventional switches and conventional lights)

• Switch 1 turning on light A
  • Switch 2 turning on light B
  • Swith 3 turning on light C

Is it possible to make it so that by replacing conventional to smart switches in all instances, switch 1 would turn on switches (1, 2 and 3 ) and therefore creating almost like a group.

To give an example, just in the kitchen alone there are 3 switches and 3 different lights which would work well switch on together…

Is it better to replace switches, lights, relays?

Thank you in advance

Depending on the proximity of the switches to each other, I’d start with looking to see if all three lights can be wired to a single switch. Much cheaper than home automation :slight_smile:

If you want a Wi-Fi only solution, it’s possible to write Routines to make devices mirror each other’s behaviors. You have to be sure to include conditions that check if a light is already on/off to prevent race conditions that can cause looping. With 3 switches, you’ll need six Routines to handle both on and off. You might also be able to use the Smartlighting app in ST to get the synchronization you want. Another choice might be to buy a separate smart on/off button or scene controller and use Routines to turn on/off the lights based on that.