Complete newbie wanting to learn how to install new device handler from published code

I’m completely new to this and want to begin with my Aeon Labs Heavy duty smart energy switch. I’ve found the code that I think performs the functions here: https://github.com/jpansarasa/SmartThings/blob/master/devicetypes/elasticdev/aeon-labs-heavy-duty-smart-energy-switch.src/aeon-labs-heavy-duty-smart-energy-switch.groovy. But, having never done any coding and having never used this interface, I am at a loss. I read the FAQ’s, but they are still just beyond my understanding.
Copy and paste, yes, I can do that. But copy and paste which parts? And when I get to the part that says:
def configure() {
//Get the values from the preferences section
What preferences section? etc.
A little hand holding would be very much appreciated. Remember, I did preface this with “complete newbie”.
Is there something I should read that would give me a lay persons understanding of what I’m looking at here?
Thanks in advance.

1 Like

See if this helps at all. Since “device type” and “device handler” are the same thing, you would copy the entire groovy file that you found and use the instructions for a device handler.

2 Likes

Yeah, read that. And got excited when it said “Using a Custom Device Handler: Easy!” And then went to the code that I found (and linked to) and that’s where “Easy!” became “WTF is easy about this???” It doesn’t look like everything there should be copied and pasted. But then, I have no idea what I’m even looking at. And as I move down through it I get to the part that says, “def configure…get values from the preferences section”… What preferences section? Am I making this harder than it actually is? Is it really as easy as just copying and pasting that entire linked text section, or are there sections that do require custom input as implied by “get values from preferences section”?

1 Like