Anyone write code to create a virtual device that uses a in-wall switch module and smart bulb into 1 virtual device?

All my light switches have in-wall relay modules for the switches, but instead of swapping them with dimmer modules, I’d love to be able to place a smart bulb like the Sengrel ones with dimmable capabilities, and then group them into a virtual device that Toggles and Dims. The dim control would go to the bulb, the switch would do the toggling.

It would need code to ensure the switch is on before calling the dim settings, but I think this sounds feasible.

Has anyone done this or know of a quick way to get it going?

I’m a developer, and am familiar with Python and many other languages and don’t mind writing this, but if there is something I can use as a template to get started I’d love to have a good jumping off point.

1 Like

In this particular case, where you have a specific Device Type of Switch and a specific Device Type of Bulb, I would be tempted to literally combine the DTH code into one DTH.

You would not be able to get automatic selection of this DTH using signature/fingerprint (as there are two different device fingerprints), but you would manually override the assigned DTH using the IDE / My Devices page.

• By just mixing and matching the code of the two DTHs, you eliminate the requirement for a SmartApp to keep a “Virtual DTH” in sync both both Devices.
  • You lose various bits of flexibility (such as mixing and matching device types), in exchange for simplicity of implementation of your idea.

I’m no expert, but it doesn’t seem ideal to cut power to your dimmer bulbs. I’d imagine there would be latency before they come online to be controlled from the hub. Or maybe the hub is able to queue these commands? That would be slick, but don’t know if that works.