Aeon MultiSensor 6 - Reporting 0 Lux

I’m trying to use the illuminance sensor on the Aeon MultiSensor 6 and it starts to report 0 Lux when there is plenty of light - for example on an overcast day. I haven’t seen it report more than 19 Lux actually.

Is this a known issue? Do I have a bad sensor? It’s been quite frustrating

I am working on a custom device type for this and saw the same thing for awhile now It reports up to 1800 … recommend you leave it for a few hours in the dark, I have a feeling it self calibrates… at least that is what mine did after leaving over night…

re here is my device type.

I’m new to device types. Can you point me to the differences between yours and the Robert Vandervoot one? Thanks for the reply, btw!

So I tested out the sensor a bit more. Shining a bright flashlight pretty directly at the sensor did get it to show 10,000+ Lux. If shone slightly less directly, it would do sensible things like respond with 1,500 Lux or something similar.

However, with ambient lighting in our room (by no means dark), it fell quickly back to 0. This is also what it ends up reporting on an overcast day where we don’t even need to switch on lights in the room. Far from the 50-100 Lux that it should be (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lux). Having all the lights on in the room brings it up to 12-13 Lux.

Seems to me like the sensor is just plain inaccurate and lacking in sensitivity on the lower end of the spectrum. I doubt a device handler is going to fix whatever issue it is having - but I hope I’m wrong. As it stands, I’m most likely going to try and return it.

Note that I have also tried setting a luminance offset of 100 Lux - hoping that maybe the calibration was wrong and negative numbers never get sent back. That didn’t work. It stayed at a 100 Lux in pitch darkness. So clearly, it is having trouble distinguishing between darkness and some light. Really only seems to work in really bright light.

Just not very sensitive to light and uV.