Add battery operated wireless switch to existing light fixture without Internet, smartphone, or neutral

I’m an electrician and a common request is to add switch(es) to an existing light fixture. Typically the existing switch would be a turn switch or pull chain in the lighting fixture. Obviously this can be done by running wire, but if this can be done wireless-ly, installation would be much faster. Sounds easy, but here’s common constraints:

-Old houses … two wire 120v - no neutral
-No wi-fi available (but don’t need internet access or smartphone control).
-120v power available at light fixture (load), but not at new switch location(s). Need on-wall battery operated switch(es)
-Sometimes need 3- or more-way switching
-Distance light fixture to new switch(es) varies - sometimes short, sometimes up a floor
-A plug-in hub or controller usually possible, depending on price.

Can someone recommend products … a solution?

Thx, Gus

This forum is for people who are using the Samsung SmartThings home automation platform. That platform in and of itself requires Internet access and a smartphone. So I’m not sure we can help with your project, as any suggested solutions would be based on the SmartThings platform.

1 Like

If we ignore smartthings for the moment, The only option I can think of given the constraints you have, would be to use a non internet based controller, a battery operated switch, and a smart light bulb on the same protocol. The lightbulb will appear as a dimmer switch to the controller. You would have very few rules options, but you probably could set time based schedules. You could definitely have the smart bulb controlled by the switch.

I can think of two different set ups that would work with these Constraints, but you would have to match these models exactly.