2-gang light switch/GFCI problem - need help

Hi, I’m new here! I’m sorry this is a little long, but it’s been a long 2 days and I want to make sure I provide as much detail as possible about what I’m working with:

My wife and I just bought a house, and I am very excited about making it a smart house. My Smartthings hub is still in the box waiting for our internet coming in 2 days, and while I wait to get the system set up I was getting my switches wired and in place.

This is my first go at electrical work, but I studied up on the forums here and got a pretty good idea of what I would be looking at. When I pulled the first switch out, it was pretty straightforward - I got it right out of the gate. I am installing GE Z-Wave dimmer switches for the most part (1 in, 1 in progress, and 4 more to install after that).

My issue came up when I went after my 2nd switch - one in my kitchen connecting 2 lights, and sharing a 2-gang box with a GFCI outlet. I don’t think the lights were there before the house was renovated (built in 1975, professionally reno’d right before we bought it), and when I opened up the outlet it was a rat’s nest. I’m pretty sure the electrician was a sadist.

Originally, the switch had 3 lines running to the line/hot terminal - the actual “line” wire, one of the 2 “load” light wires, and a jumper from the GFCI line terminal. The switch also didn’t have a neutral attached - instead, all 4 neutral wires (2 coming in & 2 for the light) were pigtailed and jumped to the GFCI. I think the jumper from GFCI to switch and the load wire on the line terminal were acting as a neutral (somehow).

I took it apart but couldn’t get it back together with how the wires were cut/connected, so I went and got a spool of wire and a bag of pigtails to redo it all.