Help designing a new system - Extreme cold motion sensing

Hello everyone,

I’m brand new to SmartThings, so please excuse my ignorance. I’m planning to try out a new setup for home automation, and it looks like SmartThings is going to be the core of whatever system I end up building, but I’m stuck on how to set up my front entrance and would appreciate any wisdom that those of you experienced in this community would like to share.

Wishlist:
-outdoor motion detector that will work at -40 degrees (anything with batteries won’t work)
-doorbell cam or other that can be accessed from a smart phone and triggered by the motion detector (again, hardwired power is the way to go)
-Have existing outdoor lights turn on with motion detection, probably through a GE in-wall panel switch controlled through SmartThings

Current Plan:
Right now the best I can come up with is installing a Skybell (http://www.skybell.com/) and a regular, non-connected motion-detecting floodlight since I can’t seem to find any outdoor motion sensors that will work here in winter, or any cameras that will give the functionality that the Skybell will. This isn’t the end of the world, but I’d much rather have a solution that integrates with SmartThings. Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Coda

Welcome to the community! That’s a tough set up.

I don’t know of any motion detectors that will work down to -40°F. Optex make some great connected beam detectors that will work down to about -10, but that’s the only thing I know of that’s not an industrial design that’s probably way more money than you want to spend. The Optex still doesn’t integrate directly with smartthings but first you’ve got to figure out if there’s even a device that can do what you want.