Your initial experience with Scenes and Automations?

I am a beginner in SmartThings and want to understand how can scenes and automations be helpful and apart from pre-bult ones, which scenes and automations have you created?
Can in some way you can share your home setup?

Thanks

I’m very new to SmartThings as well so really interested to see what people come back with. Here’s what I have setup at the moment:
Automations:

1. Light up the 2 floor lamps in my living room 30 mins before sunset.
  2. Send an alert to my phone whenever my SmartThings Multipurpose sensor contact is broken. (I use this for alerts when my shed door is opened.
  3. Switch on lights in my understairs bathroom whenever motion is detected. And switch them off after 30 seconds of no motion.
  4. Toggle the state of lights from off to on or vice versa whenever a button is pressed. I have this in the bedroom for bedside lamps and another version running in the living room for manually switching on the floor lamps.
1 Like

Scenes:
-L Bedtime: turn off overhead light, turn on lamp, turn on ceiling fan, turn on white noise in the baby’s room.
-Movie night: turn off living room lights, turn on adjacent hallway light to low, close blinds near TV.
-Blinds - open and close various groupings of blinds (iBlinds) depending on sun position at that time of day.

Automations:
-Unlock door when phone presence has arrived and garage door opens.
-Turn off all lights, lock doors at bedtime.
-Change between modes home / away / night based on time and mobile presence.

1 Like

At our house, we distinguish between Day (sunrise to sunset), Night (sunset until when I go to sleep) and Asleep as location.modes.

Bedtime scene turns on a pathway of lights from the living room to my bedroom, turns off the tv in the living room.

Good night scene turns off the pathway of lights from Bedtime, changes location.mode to Asleep.

Good morning scene changes the location.mode to Day.