Wired Home Security System Issues and Need Suggestions

Wasn’t sure where to post this as its slightly off topic but kinda not. So the long story short on this is, I bought a house that was just a year old but out of its brand new warranty. The person I bought the house from, never had an alarm system installed and if they had, I think they would have had to fix this problem. The house came pre-wired with all the doors and windows with reed sensors. Me being a techy and somewhat frugal I decided to roll my own security system to have fun with but also not have to pay monthly.

So, I bought my ST hub, an Arduino, the ThingShield, and box to put the wires and stuff in. I started learning all the code I need to get going, I mocked up my box I am putting everything in, and finally I started tracing out what wire goes to what door/window. I had always noticed this, but it never dawned on me until I was tracing everything out. Then it hit me, how the hell am I supposed to make this work??? (See pic).

Whoever wired the house, used flush mounted reed sensors for the windows, but they are mounted outside of the window on the side of the sill. What?! I think I need to just remove the sensor, pull the wire over to the window and use an externally mounted sensor, and then just fill in the hole and hide the wire as best as possible. Maybe notch the wood, lay the wire in the notch and fill it with putty and paint. I am just baffled as to what they were thinking when they installed these. I really don’t want to go wireless with the sensors since they cost so much. Anyone have any other ideas or know why it was installed this way?

1 Like

Weird. I can’t imagine how they planned on using those. Your idea sounds reasonable to me.

Have you removed it yet i honestly can’t see how this is a sensor for the window (side mounter) for a double hung type window.