When to use Automations vs SmartApps [2020, groovy platform]

I’m new to ST, and very impressed so far. My main use is to automate/control z-wave lights etc.

Having searched for this topic to no avail, I thought I’d ask if there is a guideline or list of pros/cons on using Automations vs SmartApps as it relates to controlling lights.

I see where things like presence is available in SmartApps but not Automation., but I’m sure there are many other differences.

Presence is available in automations. :slight_smile: to an extent

1 Like

There’s no particular guideline.

The SmartLighting rules you create through the smartlighting smartapp are the only parts of the system at present that can “run locally“, that is that will still operate even if the Internet is out or the smartthings cloud is unavailable. So a lot of people always start with those because they want to get the local operation.

The design intention pretty clearly is to have everyone use automations unless they are power users who will eventually be writing custom code through the “rules API.“ However, as of this writing, December 2020, there are still somethings you just can’t do with the built-in automation creator. So they go to Smartapps to fill in the gaps.

So as far as what most people do, I think most people who just buy the system and set it up without ever coming to this forum just use automations.

People who do more research and want local operations put as much as they can into the smartlighting smartapp.

People who do a lot of research and are comfortable with custom code use custom code when there are features that they want that are not supported by the built-in automation creator. Sometimes that’s because they bought a device/service which has advanced features that require a smartapp, sometimes it’s because they asked a question in the forum and the answer was custom code.