Weird issues with Enerwave RSM2 Micro Switch

(Chris Hughes) #1

Hey guys. I don’t post in here that often but I have plenty of experience with ST and Z-Wave devices. I have some videos with my ST setup and integration on my Youtube Channel. You can check it out if you’re interested. https://www.youtube.com/majestechs

Anyways. I’m having a weird issue with my Enerwave RSM2 Micro switches. I have several of them around my house but the most common use is in a dual gang box for Fan/Light control. It’s the typical setup where one switch controls the light on the fan and the other switch controls the fan. Everything appears to be wired properly but if I flip the wall switch for the fan while the fan is on, it turns the fan off but causes the light to flicker. It’s almost as if the micro switch is sending a short burst to the light’s aux wire, causing it to turn on briefly. Sometimes the ceiling fan doesn’t even shut off and just stays on and requires me to flip the switch a second time. If I use ST to turn the fan off, I don’t have this issue. It only happens when the switch is used.

I thought this was an anomaly but I had the exact same issue on another fan/light combo in my kitchen. Do these Micro Switches often have issues with fans?

(Chris Hughes) #2

bump. nobody?

(Ray) #3

I can have a guess. This weirdness is probably caused by the reverse current rush of the motor when turning off and the position of the physical dumb switch. I suspect you are using a single pole dumb switch and this flicking and weirdness is only happened when the switch is in the off(down) position and switching to ON(up)? I didn’t look into the spec of the RSM2 micro relay but possibly it’s not for fan control.

(Chris Hughes) #4