WebCORE pistons triggered by Harmony activity switches are slow to respond

Hello,

I’m new to SmartThings and I am trying to integrate a couple of SmartThings power outlets into a Harmony activity, such that there is a delay between powering on the outlets.

It looked like the best way to do this is using webCORE, as delays can’t be used between home-control commands in Harmony activities.

I have successfully linked SmartThings and my Harmony Hub and created a couple of pistons - one to turn on the amps when a Harmony activity is switched on and one to turns the amps off.

Everything works as expected, except that, whilst the Harmony activity runs fine in around 10 seconds, the pistons take about 4 minutes to be triggered.

I am presuming that this is not the expected behaviour and I am wondering what can be done to speed up the firing of the pistons?

I’m attaching a snapshot of the piston in it’s current form.

To make the Harmony activities trigger in realtime, you need to add the ST Harmony activity switch to the Harmony activity.

In other words, just like you can add ST devices to Harmony Control and control those devices within the Harmony activity, you can do the same with the actual Harmony activity device that mirrors the Harmony activity in ST.

Add ST Devices to include the Harmony Activities as they populate in ST.

Then in the Harmony activity, add Home Control (same activity switch as seen in ST)

For Example:
Watch Fire TV
Turn On TV
Select TV input
Home Control
“Watch Fire TV” On

Same thing for end
Home Control
“Watch Fire TV” Off

This way, whenever you turn on/off a Harmony Activity, it will immediately send that command to ST to also turn on/off the ST Switch that mirrors that Activity.

Hope that makes sense.

IMG_1893

IMG_1891

IMG_1892

1 Like

Thanks Ron. I think I understand what needs to be done, but I can’t work out how to do it.