Web UI for Smart Hub

Hi All,
I am a student and I have just started my journey with IoT. For one of my course projects, I am thinking of building a web platform for users to replicate the same functionalities and maybe more that is provided by Samsung Smart App. Since I am just starting I am trying to read the documentation, searching in community forum to get me started. So I have the following questions:

1. Is it possible to use the SmartThing APIs to control the connected device?
  2. How can I provide the controlling functionality for each user from the web platform?
  3. Is there any of such sort that has already been built which I can refer to?
  4. What all APIs should I get myself comfortable with to build the above platform.

Please let me know if there are any issues.
Thanks in advance.

You can’t replicate all of the admin level account functions, such as adding a new device or changing the geopresence boundary: those are reserved to the official app.

There are already a number of existing “dashboard” projects, including two very polished browser based third-party apps which are very popular. See the following recent discussion on those. (The topic title is a clickable link.)

That said, smartthings is currently in the middle of a major transition: new app, new backend platform, And the new stuff is still very much in the “work in progress” stage. There isn’t even complete documentation on it. :thinking: But you can look and see what there is.

And here is the announcement on the coming changes:

Updates to the SmartThings Platform

So if you want to build yet another dashboard project based on the old platform, you are certainly welcome to do so. Just be aware that you may have to redo all of the work in 2021 once the old platform is retired.

4 Likes

Hi @sarthak.jain, to add to what @JDRoberts said, SmartThings also has their own webUI. I’m on that beta, which has been going on for some time, but no eta for a public release yet.