Water Sensor - Newbie questions

I am new to ST and getting a handle on it. I have succesfully conneced it to my Echo and Harmony and can turn things on and off with Echo.

I just installed and tested a water leak sensor. My question is 2 parts, Can I send notification to more than 1 phone (SMS) and can I make it make the lights blink instead of just turning on ?

Thanks

1. There’s probably a custom smartapp available that allows multiple SMS notifications, but I’m not aware of it. Acually, I just looked and found that I could provide you a modified version of “Notify Me When” with the ability to text a second number. Let me know if you’re interested.

2. If you’re using an Aeon micro controller for your smart switch, it can be done easily. The Aeon unit has a “strobe” mode which is recognized as a visual alarm. Just go into Smart Home Monitor and configure it. If you’re using a conventional smart switch, there is an app available from the IDE called The Flasher that will do what you want. However, it uses the ST cloud and short duration timed events, which are always “iffy.” I use it myself as part of our wash load done notification. It always works, but not necessarily with the number or timing of flashes programmed.

Thanks for the reply. I would like to see the modified version of the notify Me When. I am not using an Aon controller. What is the IDE ?

IDE = integrated development environment. It’s where the real power of SmartThings becomes obvious. Try the link and see if you have access. If not, request it. Once you’re in, goto My SmartApps and then click/tap the green button for + New SmartApp (this is best done on a computer BTW). Next, click/tap the tab for “From Code.” Past the code (below) into the window that appears, and then Save and Publish (for me). You’ll find the installed app on your mobile device in the Marketplace (far right icon on the bottom toolbar) under SmartApps > My Apps. At that point, just configure it like any other app.