VeraSecure and Smarthings

(Peter Scott) #1

Background: I am new to the smart home world. I am close on my first home in the coming months, and along with a phased renovation, I plan to build it into a “smart home.” One issue is that the home is in a rural area, while it has reliable internet, it isn’t going to be as high of bandwidth as is available in town. I don’t want to bog it down with background processes

I have read about hubs that operate locally vs. Cloud based. I am not real comfortable having what I would call critical processes (thermostat, door locks, lights, etc) being internet dependant. Now, entertainment, appliances and other “luxury” processes, I have no issue with them being cloud based. I have read that ST has integrated more local processing, but I do not know what the limits are on that.

I have been picking up pieces that I will use, amazon Alexa devices, Bose soundtouch devices, etc.

My questions:

Am I correct in my concerns of cloud based processing in this situation?
Would Vera and ST work together?
As I understand it one would need go be primary and the other secondary, would work ST as a secondary to Vera? Would that be the best set up?
Am I going in the right direction with this, or would I be better of going in another?

Any advice or information on this is very much appreciated.

(Bryan) #2

You are correct that with ST some things run locally and some run in the cloud. That being said, you should NOT rely on ST for anything you deem critical, whether that thing runs locally or in the cloud.

For example, if you want an alarm system and deem that critical, get a separate alarm system or the ADT ST hub. I understand that the alarm functions of the ADT hub (I don’t have one) run separately and are reliable. Others can weigh in on this.