Velux opening skylights and blinds integration (older hardwired 22-24v system) -- How to integrate with ST? (DPDT)

I have multiple hard wired, low voltage DC controlled, Velux opening skylights with blinds. I installed the skylights and blinds 15 years ago during a remodel. I am not an electrician by trade but have fairly good knowledge of both AC and DC wiring systems.

The skylights and blinds open and close with 22v DC hard wired motors. I believe the newer Velux stuff is all connected via RF and driven by remote control, but this system is not. This should make it a lot easier to connect to a home automation system. Since the skylights and blinds open and close with simple DC motors, to open them requires closing the switch in one polarity and closing them just switching in the opposite polarity. Essentially what is required is a zWave controller with a DPDT configuration that can flip a relay in one direction to open the skylights (and blinds) and reverse the polarity to close them. there are limit switches built into the windows and blinds so it is not a momentary type switch that is required, but rather just a normal DPDT on/off switch .

I hope this makes sense. Does anyone make a zWave or Zigbee DPDT switch I can connect to my Smartthings hub to get my skylights and blinds automated? Or if anyone has other advice on how to make this work it would be appreciated!

I’m pretty sure a Mimo2 can do this, but I’m not sure if anybody has written a SmartThings device handler for it yet. But the same company’s Mimolite is quite popular, so it may have been done.

http://www.fortrezz.com/index.php/products/mimo/item/11-multi-i-o-module-mimo

@Mike_Maxwell has done a lot with relays, he might have more to add.

1 Like

Hey JDRoberts,