Turn off an outlet after a variable amount of time?

So here’s my dream scenario: I just did maintenance on my pool filter and I want it to run for X number of hours, I push a button on my Apple watch, it prompts me for the number of hours to run and at the right time the outlet just shuts off. (The pool filter is plugged into a GE Z-Wave outdoor module.) I’m new to SmartThings but I’ve used IFTTT before and I’ve done quite a bit with the iOS app Workflows. Right now I’m looking at a full toolbox (SmartApp, Workflow, IFTTT, iOS reminders, etc) and scratching my head trying to figure out which tool(s) are best for the job…

My gut is pointing me to Workflow first because what I’ve been doing (I’m slowing switching from Iris to ST) is using a Workflow to ask me how many hours I want the filter to run then setting a normal iOS reminder for that far in the future that tells me to shut off the filter. At that point, if I’m not in a meeting or otherwise busy, I’d manually launch the Iris app and shut off the outlet. I was hoping with ST there would be a way to have the thing just turn itself off at the appropriate time instead of me having to launch an app to shut it off. Now I’m already happier that I can have a routine that shuts it off that shows up on my Apple Watch so I can more easily/discreetly turn off the outlet when the reminder pops up but it seems like there should be some way for me not to have to take any action other than the initial kick-off.