Triggering an Event at a Specific Time?

I will begin by saying I just got my SmartThings hub a few days ago, and the first thing that I wanted it to do did not have a built in app. I then tried to find one, which I did, but it didn’t work properly. Once I scanned through the code, I slowly realised the follies, and tasked myself to learn syntax to fix the app, and add some functionality. I would also mention that I have some programming knowledge, though limited.

Now, most of that is irrelevant to what I want to know, but may shed light on why I don’t already know how to do this.

My app controls my dehumidifier; turns it on when it goes above xx, turns it off when it goes below xx. As well, it has a timer to ensure it only runs when electricity is cheap. All is fine and dandy, and the app works, however the app only evaluates the criteria when it gets an update from the humidity sensor, and it can take a while for it to report a 1% humidity change.

What I would like for it to do is to trigger at the “end” time (lets say it’s 6:00am, for argument’s sake). If the dehumidifier is already off, then that’s awesome. However, if it’s on, it would then fall outside of the time range, and turn off … instead of waiting for and update, which might happen at 7:15, meaning the dehumidifier was on for 1 hr 15 min during “expensive” time.

The band-aid for this would be to have a trigger always try to force the dehumidifier off at 6:00am, but that seems a bit kludgey.

A simple SmartLighting routine would do that. Set it to only run between A and B times

Welcome! SmartThings is very versatile, but unfortunately, as you’ve discovered, not very intuitive.

Since you have a technical background, you’re going to have the most options with core:

There are other ways to do it as well, and you might want to also take a look at the welcome FAQ:

1 Like