Totally confused about apps (especially the weather station)

Hello all. I am new here, so thanks in advance for helping out a newbie. It’s kind of a long story but hopefully clear.

So I wrote my own lighting smartapp which, without getting into too many details, relies on the sunset notifications and states to work properly. Since I’m a software developer by trade, this wasn’t too difficult for me to develop and install and everything was working fine (hooray!).

Subsequently to this, I tried to install a smart lighting app which randomly turned lights on and off while in “vacation” mode. This seemed to work, except I noticed that the hub was going into night mode automatically at sunset, which of course turned off my random lighting app. I could even see events in the event list saying “entering night mode at your request.” Having no idea where these were coming from, I started scratching my head, looking though all the automations I could see on the mobile app, but could not see anything. So first question is: is there a way to determine exactly what is causing an event?