"Top 10" uses for beginners? I'm overwhelmed

Hi everyone -

I’m a beginner and have a handful of switches and a multipurpose sensor online at this point. I’ve been searching for some sort of “Top 10” list of where to start with SmartThings, but no such luck. Is there a particular thread for newbies where I can dive into the most popular items? I realize I can do pretty much anything, but I guess I want to start more basic at this point.

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction!

-Shane

3 Likes

Welcome to the world of home automation! Here is a place where you can find a lot of interesting reads. It is not fully developed as the Wiki is a community initiative, but has a lot of good info to get you started.

http://thingsthataresmart.wiki/index.php?title=ThingsThatAreSmart_Wiki

As for your question, are you looking for top 10 uses or more like top ten apps?

2 Likes

Do you mean the most popular use cases? Smartthings is an extremely versatile system, so different people will use it for different purposes. For example, someone who lives alone might want a “light follows me” type use case where the lights keep coming on and going off as you move from room to room. But as soon as you have two people living in a house, that type of smartapp becomes much harder to coordinate and you’re more likely to have one person sitting there in the dark. :wink:

I myself am quadriparetic with limited hand function, so I am very interested in these cases that give me hands-free operation. The Amazon echo was a very valuable addition to my set up for me for that reason. But if you have a new baby, you may not want to use voice control at all in order to make naptime last as long as possible!

If you want to think about some of the things you can do with automation that you can’t easily do without it, that usually falls into the following big categories: