Time based events happening in a burst

I’ve been using ST for a couple of months. I haven’t really had any major problems until recently. I’m posting in the hope of learning how to work around things and to understand the problem, rather than to get a perfect solution per-se.

Over the last week or so, I’ve noticed that time-based events are not always triggering reliably. When they fail to trigger, they will sometimes finally happen in a burst: all the events from the last few hours will trigger one after another. This has only happened three times so far, but is frustrating mostly because it was working almost perfectly before that.

Strangely, what has got them to trigger was opening SmartRules for a little while. I’m not sure why this would be, since my understanding is that SmartRules only sets up rules on the hub itself, and doesn’t need to run for rules to operate. Which makes me wonder if somehow it’s not a failure to run the rules, but that the hub is losing the rules, and SmartRules is reupdating the hub when I go into that app. But I don’t know how all of this works, so I might be totally wrong (hence why I’m posting).

The hub did go offline yesterday for no obvious reason, though it was back online hours before the failed action. Does resetting the hub cause this kind of thing to happen? Does it remove all the rules, which then need to be reapplied by opening ios apps? If so, at least I would know to always open up all my apps whenever the hub disconnects and/or has to be reset.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

I’m not sure about the past week or so but there was an issue yesterday that affected hubs:
Smartthings Status Webpage
Hubs were offline until rebooted such as my case.

What I know so far, there is a subset of routines that can run locally on the v2 hub but most things still run from the cloud and the cloud servers sometimes has issues with reliability for some reason.

@obycode

Thanks for the tag @slagle.